top of page

FCLA Competition 2021 Winners Emerge

Updated: Aug 31, 2021

University of Ibadan Sweeps All Prizes

Excited Winning Students from University of Ibadan

After weeks of work on their project prior to the Festival and a period of intensive learning during the Festival, it was time to close and award the winners. As part of the activities lined up for the concluding part of the festival on 22 May, the Future Creative Leaders Academy of the Pitcher Festival organized their final session and awards which was streamed live on the Pitcher Festival website. The session featured presentations by the 5 finalists in the FCLA competition. Fifteen tertiary institutions had started this journey with over 40 students. The project for this year was a brief given to the students to create an intervention programme to address the issue of vaccine hesitancy in Africa.

For the first time in the history of the FCLA, all the prizes were swept by one institution. The Dean of the Academy, Temitope Jemerigbe, CEO DKK Nigeria and Chairman, Women in Advertising, AAAN announced the winners as follows:

The Gold medal was won by Goodnesss Okusayan, the Silver medal by Theodore Ogedegbe, the Bronze medal by Niniola Olobayo, all of the Department of Communication and Language Arts, University of Ibadan. The FCLA lecturer of the year was won by Dr Bisi Olawuyi of the Communications and Language Arts, University of Ibadan. The University of Ibadan also became the FCLA School of the Year 2021.

In attendance at the event were FCLA members from the 15 participating institutions, lecturers from the various schools and jurors of the Future Creative Leaders Academy including:

Bolanle Akintomide, Head of Production & Accounts, Up In the Sky, Lagos; Farhan Mirza, Executive Creative Director, Creative WML&R, Nairobi, Kenya; Jonah Otieno, Chief Executive Officer, 5ive Ltd, Nairobi, Kenya; Olajumoke Akinyele, Deputy Director, Business, Noah's Ark Communications; Suziette Ukey, Copy & Content Lead, Etu Odi Communications, Lagos and

Uduak Akpan, Group Head, Yellow Brick Road, Lagos.

The jurors took turns to give feedback on the students work and pointed them in the direction that they needed to go to excel. The Chairman of the Festival, Nnamdi Ndu thanked the Dean, Jurors and Academy faculty for taking time out of their busy schedules to help build the industry professionals of the future. He also congratulated all the winners and participants, noting that they are all winners as they are already champions from their various schools. Nnamdi thanked the lecturers for the special contribution they are making towards identifying and grooming creative talents.


bottom of page